saintbounty: (sleepy [manuscript])
[personal profile] saintbounty
Name: saintbounty

Age: 25

Location: Pennsylvania, USA

About Me: What about me? 25 year old queer cyber-witch, re-immersing herself in journaling as a practice and still piecing together my online writing community. I was on LJ as a young adult and I miss the vibe. I have deceptively little chill.

About My Journal: Mostly personal, but also some writing, and some talking about writing and books and TV. My day job in tech support and small electronics repair takes up a lot of my energy, and I got a few irons in the fire.

What I Write: Personal essays, poetry, genre fiction (read: fantasy, I guess!).

What I Want to Write: Romance, creative non-fiction, comics.

What I Read: Essays, poetry (I get like 10 poem-of-the-day emails), literally any fiction story with lesbians, a gaggle of web and print comics, newsletters about the future.

What I Want To Read: Better fiction stories with lesbians, and more nonfiction. I'm always down for good sci-fi and fantasy, and I have a soft spot for YA, as I suspect many folks do.

Could I Edit Someone Else's Work: I'd love to.

perfectworry: like magic play aces stay with me go places (universe & you)
[personal profile] perfectworry
Name: Frances J., or Meep

Age: 20something

Location: Tokyo, Japan

About Me: I'm a twentysomething queerish girlwoman expatriate librarian-at-arms. I eat books and bleed poetry.
… er, that's what it says on the Twitter account that I admit to at work, but I'm writing this from a mattress on the floor and eating an ice cream in my pajamas on a Friday evening, in between shuffling my new tarot cards and watching trashy movies. (The Twitter account I don't admit to at work is [twitter.com profile] transpacifique.)

About My Journal: This is where I post any writing worth sharing. (If you're on LJ, my "journal"/diary is [livejournal.com profile] meepalicious.)

What I Write: I write stories for my friends. I love to co-write or share a 'verse and characters, so most of my recent work is collaborative stuff or my half of a story, or my characters' side of something. I like writing about ordinary people caught up in extraordinary circumstances, or extraordinary people trying to live ordinary lives. I like fantasy (high and, especially, urban), historical, contemporary and, yes, romance. I like to write underrepresented queer romances; expect to see a lot of queer women, ménages à trois, gender nonconforming and/or asexual characters. 
I'm an active participant in [livejournal.com profile] writerverse, so many of my stories are challenge responses. Sometimes I dabble in [community profile] rainbowfic.
I'm starting to dabble in poetry and creative nonfiction.

What I Don't Write: I don't write horror, smut, or hard sci-fi.

What I Read: I'm a children's librarian, so I read a lot of kidlit. Online, I'll read most anything, except for what I don't. (See below.) I like to read (and write) about happy, stable queer relationships, the kind of people  I might like to be friends with if I met them, and fuzzy warm feelings. 

What I Don't Read: I don't read what I don't write, but I might make an exception for hard sci-fi.

Could I Edit Someone Else's Work: Sure! I'm a bit rusty, but I used to spend hours a day copy and content editing for friends online. I would be happy to be a beta reader and critique partner; that's actually what I'm here for. I mean, I hope we will be friends, but I'd love to meet some creative collaborators!

moffatmegan: (Default)
[personal profile] moffatmegan
Name: Megan

Age: 24

Location: Pennsylvania, USA

About Me: Aspiring indie author. Raised in lower Delaware (if you don't know where that is, don't worry, most people don't) and currently living in Pennsylvania with my husband. I have a bachelors degree in history (my thesis was on the trial of the Lincoln assassination conspirators). I'm a little a eccentric, I suppose. My tastes are diverse. I collect postcards, lawn gnomes and fridge magnets. Whenever I travel I take my gnome, Hamish, with me. I love all kinds of genres of music (from swing to heavy metal), TV (Are You Being Served? to Castle), movies (Hitchcock's silent films to Joss Whedon's Avengers) and books (see below). I don't like coffee and prefer tea. I'm a Hufflepuff (we're great finders).

I'm looking for friends who are also writers and share the same goals, interests or genres as me.

About My Journal: I just started on my journal so it looks a little barren right now. As the weeks go now it will look less lonely. I plan to update with my writing stuff.

What I Write: Currently, I am working on a couple memoirs, flash fiction, and a few short stories that are set in modern day. I would love to write historical fiction, magical realism, alternative history or chaos theory in the future.

What I Don't Write: At the moment... erotica, mystery, thriller, children's and poetry. But things might change. I'm open to what genres I write.

What I Read: A lot of things! Media tie-in novels (think Doctor Who, Torchwood, etc), Biographies/Autobiographies/Memoirs, Classics, Humor, Children's, Young Adult, . Occasionally I will read Chick-Lit thought it is not my favorite. Some of my favorite authors are L. Frank Baum, Poppy Z. Brite (or Billy Martin), Agatha Christie, and Christopher Moore.

What I Don't Read: Things like Fifty Shades of Gray. It annoys me because the author is making money from fanfiction, and the one of the points of fanfitcion is not to make a profit from your work. Books that just right out lie about history but say that it's the truth like Killing Lincoln and Killing Kennedy both by Martin Dugard and Bill O'Reilly.

Could I Edit Someone Else's Work: Yes, but please know that I am not a professional. I am also willing to just look over your work to tell you how it is (if it good or if it sucks).

leia_solo: Sylvia Plath in sitting in a study with half her face obscured (Default)
[personal profile] leia_solo
Name: Destiny


Age: 21


Location: Louisiana



About Me: The basics about me are that I'm 21, African American, Female, and the youngest child in both my families. I love a lot of things. I love animals, specially cats. I love music with all my heart and I would love to create it. I love reading and writing. I've been reading since I can remember and I've liked writing. I remember the first story I typed. I was twelve and it badly written smut haha. I've gotten better since then I think though I did have a long hiatus from writing around 2009-2010.


About My Journal: I write about my day to day life and that include writing. I make loot posts which shows various purchases I've made and I just feel the need to squee about. I also like to make graphics and I have other hobbies besides writing



What I Write:

It's hard to put a label on. But I would say historical fiction and young adult right now. I have three stories that I'm working on.
What I Don't Write:

There's nothing that I won't attempt at least once.
What I Read:

Historical fiction/romance, young adult fiction, urban fantasy and I'm venturing into sci-fi
What I Don't Read:

Horror at the moment
Could I Edit Someone Else's Work: It's possible. I'm not as good at spelling and grammar as I used to be when I was in a formal school, but I could give it a go.


Hello

Feb. 4th, 2012 03:04 pm
38thparallel: (Garden)
[personal profile] 38thparallel
Name: Jen

Location: USA

About Me: College grad interested in history, world travel, learning about other cultures, reading, writing, and running.

About My Journal: My journal is a conglomeration of my creative writing, history, photographs, and the usual digressions regarding people, places, music, and books. I rarely post about my personal life, except where it intersects with some of my interests.

What I Write: Mostly original fiction, historical fiction, and some creative nonfiction. The closest I come to fanfiction is writing about historical figures in unlikely situations!

What I Don't Write: Fanfiction

What I Read: I will read anything, truly. Re: books, I mainly read biographies, history nonfic, historical fiction, and mystery. I occasionally sneak in romance/erotica under the radar. Re: online, I am pretty open to any genre. In the case of fanfiction, however, I like to be relatively familiar with the fandom.

Could I Edit Someone Else's Work: I can certainly try!

Super cool idea for a community! I look forward to meeting other writers.

Profile

add_a_writer: Open book with pen laying on it (Default)
Add A Writer

July 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2 345678
9 10 1112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 24th, 2017 06:40 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios